2016-17 Leadership Teams

ASB Leadership is a collective student voice composed of a diverse body of student leaders. Our mission is to create a more positive and engaging experience at Berkeley High School through civic engagement, community building, sustainability, social events, and positive staff-student relations.

Berkeley High School Development Group (BHSDG) – BHSDG is an independent nonprofit 501(c)(3) corporation founded in 1991 by a group of parent volunteers to ensure the quality and excellence of Berkeley High School. In 2014-15, BHSDG managed over $500,000 in donations and other revenues. With these funds, BHSDG was able to make grants for a wide range of equipment and educational enrichment opportunities.

Berkeley Schools Excellence Project (BSEP) – As a community response to school funding shortages in the wake of Proposition 13, the Berkeley Schools Excellence Project (BSEP) has made a huge difference in the quality of our children’s education.

Berkeley Unified School District (BUSD) – The overarching committee of elected board members that makes decisions on district related issues.

School Site Council (SSC) –  In the Berkeley Unified School District, each school has a School Governance Council (though the high school operates slightly differently, see below) which combines the responsibilities of the state-mandated School Site Councils (such as writing the School Plan and allocating certain state funds directed to schools) as well as the duties of looking at all school spending including BSEP Site Funds, a portion of special local funds that go directly to school sites.


Please contact John Villavicencio, Director of Student Activities, for more information about leadership or to get in contact with one of the student representatives.

Email: johnvillavicencio@berkeley.net

Office: (510) 644-8990

Executive Team

Julia Schwartz ASB President
Abby Steckel ASB Vice President
Emara Shabir ASB Treasurer / Chief of Fundraising
Emilie Kathol-Voilleque ASB Secretary / Chief of Staff
Zoey Horowitz Chief of Service
Elijah Liedeker Chief of Publicity
Shay’la Smith Chief of Publicity
Amber Lee Chief of Social Activities
Sarah Bjerkholt Chief of Clubs and Organizations
Annie Stonebarger Commissioner of the Arts
Aidan Mattingly-App Commissioner of Athletics

Athena Chin Commissioner of Health
Renee Revelorio-Keith Commissioner of Environmental Sustainability
Genna Saldanha Commissioner of Elections
Melissa Gross Commissioner of Multicultural Affairs

Simelia Rogers Commissioner of Multicultural Affairs

Chaltu Rachid Commissioner of Achievement
Erin Anderson Commissioner of Technology

Miles Kelekian Resident DJ
Camille Kuo Senior Class President
Angie Fike Senior Class Vice President
Mai-Li Spencer Junior Class President
Isabella Campuzano Junior Class President
Laelah Jackson Sophomore Class President
Solomon Chang Sophomore Class Vice President
Freshman Class President
Freshman Class Vice President

Student Senate

Petra Silvey-Karvounis School Board Student Representative
Alecia Harger School Site Council Representative
Ava Wallace School Site Council Representative
Junwei Li School Site Council Representative

Samuel Shteinberg School Site Council Representative
Eliza Smith BSEP Representative
Gaurav Ghosal BSEP Representative
Angelo Paraiso-Arroyo BSEP Representative
Isabella Donato BSEP Representative
Jannya Solwazi BSEP Representative alternate
Ben Drum BHSDG Representative

Conor McCauley BHSDG Representative


Class of 2017

Camille Kuo
Angie Fike
Hope Fa-Kaji
Moses Mascuch
Kaili Meier
Elias Halpern
Angelia Rodriguez
Morgan Grace
Aniya Williams
Luwam Kidane
Olivia Ventura
Claire Eccles
Micheal Peck
Chaia Cherques-Wyatt
Guadalupe Acevedo
Nathaniel Copeland
Olivia-Diaz Gilbert
Nancy-Le Nguyen

Kenji Sommers Senior Class President
Angus Green Senior Class Vice President
Aidan Fike Senior Class Treasurer
Natalie Keltner-McNeil Senior Class Secretary
Kiernan Clarke-Nichols Senior Class Deputy
Tamar Baumer Senior Class Deputy
Muriel Richardson Senior Class Deputy
Austen Lowitz Senior Class Deputy
India Robinson Senior Class Deputy
Lana Downs Senior Class Deputy
Chloe Killebrew Senior Class Deputy
Rose Micallef Senior Class Deputy
Alona Carter Senior Class Deputy
Paige Smith Senior Class Deputy
Alex Arriola Senior Class Deputy
Ava Tomasik Senior Class Deputy
Rebecca Nageotte Senior Class Deputy
Alex Miles Senior Class Deputy

Class of 2017

Elijah Liedeker Junior Class President
Nathaniel Copeland Junior Class President
Sarah Bjerkholt Junior Class Vice President
Nina Moore Junior Class Secretary
Hope Fa-Kaji Junior Class Treasurer
Michael Peck Junior Class Deputy
Natasha Marder Junior Class Deputy
Eliza Smith Junior Class Deputy
Annette Stonebarger Junior Class Deputy
Miles Kelekian Junior Class Deputy
Julia Schwartz Junior Class Deputy
Angie Fike Junior Class Deputy
Claire Eccles Junior Class Deputy
Chaia Cherques-Wyatt Junior Class Deputy
Camille Kuo Junior Class Deputy
Aniya Williams Junior Class Deputy
Soha Levert Junior Class Deputy

Jannya Solwazi Junior Class Deputy
Delaney Knutson Junior Class Deputy

Class of 2018

Genevieve Saldanha Sophomore Class President
Simelia Rogers Sophomore Class Vice President
Talya Koger Sophomore Class Treasurer
Maybelle Caro Sophomore Class Secretary
Molly Arzt Sophomore Class Deputy
Kyla Dangerfield Sophomore Class Deputy
Jullianna Figueroa Sophomore Class Deputy
Kira Kiurciev Sophomore Class Deputy
Junwei Li Sophomore Class Deputy
Alexandra Lee Sophomore Class Deputy
Elle McDougald Sophomore Class Deputy
Winston Nguyen Sophomore Class Deputy
Samuel Shteinberg Sophomore Class Deputy
Tara Steckler Sophomore Class Deputy

Class of 2019

Lauren Spencer Freshman Class President
Solomon Chang Freshman Class Vice President
Joseph Vellutini Freshman Class Treasurer
Toni Quilantang Freshman Class Secretary
Marlena Raines Freshman Class Deputy
Ceara Schreibstein Freshman Class Deputy
Laelah Jackson Freshman Class Deputy
Zadie Jivan Freshman Class Deputy
Clementine Kidson Freshman Class Deputy
Eli Kane Freshman Class Deputy
Sidney Verdizco-Espinoza Freshman Class Deputy
Daija Rogers-Breland Freshman Class Deputy
A’jah Vaughn Freshman Class Deputy
Maren Frye Freshman Class Deputy
Remalehua Faiva Freshman Class Deputy
Rosie Ward Freshman Class Deputy